Jamie Carragher and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink both claim Leeds United could have had a penalty when the ball struck Luke Shaw’s arm inside the penalty area in the first half.

The ball hit the arm of the Manchester United left-back in the 0-0 draw following a cross but referee Craig Pawson deemed his arm to be in a natural position, and so did VAR.

Carragher pointed out that he stopped a Leeds player from reaching the ball with his action, but suggests Shaw’s arm being close to his body likely swayed the ref’s decision.

On Sky Sports’ coverage of the match, Carragher said, “Well if he hadn’t stopped it there was somebody in behind him there’s no doubt.

“They certainly will look at that, it’s just whether maybe because he sees it late, he just leaves his arm there.

“It’s maybe not too far away from his body but only he’ll know if he knew what he was doing, as I say there was a Leeds player coming in behind him.”

And Hasselbaink added in his half-time analysis, “On a different day it could have been [a penalty].

“I think it would have been harsh but it did hit his arm.”

Leeds United

Handball?

There is no doubt that the ball struck Shaw’s arm and we are a little surprised a penalty was not given.

It is not clear if it was accidental or not but it seems Shaw had ample time to move out of the way and chose not to, which is questionable.

Plus, he denied us a clear advantage as Helder Costa would have reached the cross and he was in acres of space, so easily could have scored.

The law itself is rather puzzling too.

On Saturday Callum Wilson was denied a goal against Liverpool because the ball struck his arm, yet if his arm was not there it would have hit his body instead.

But for some reason the rule does not apply in defensive situations, even when it denies a clear goalscoring opportunity as it did for us.

In other Leeds United news, Jamie Carragher blasts one Leeds player as “awful” in the first half against Man Utd.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here